Author Topic: Help!!! Layer problem!!  (Read 11626 times)

Kirstin64Topic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Help!!! Layer problem!!
« on: June 07, 2012, 10:11:47 PM »
Alright guys, pleeaasseeee help me!!!!

I have a huge problem with SAI cuz everytime i want to color something cool, i wnna use layers. So i make a layer, and it wont woooork!!! on videos on youtube you always see new layers and the sketch then also appears on there....but my me it doesnt!!

help me please!!

Robellyn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Help!!! Layer problem!!
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2012, 10:33:26 PM »
Well, lets begin by making sure you got the whole 'layers' thing straight:

Layers are blank when they are created. You select and arrange them in the layers palette, and the topmost layer covers the bottom-most layer. Remember that white 'paint' (or scans of white paper) or imported JPG's one a layer ABOVE will cover anything below it. Only the layer selected when you use a painting tool will be affected by that painting tool (generally).

If all that is clear to you, then describe exactly what you are doing that isn't matching what you expect to happen.

Good luck!
Fear not, for Fear shall not save thee

Kirstin64Topic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: Help!!! Layer problem!!
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2012, 05:21:25 PM »
well, a huge problem is that when i make a new layer, the new one is totally blank, but those on the videos on youtube always have the drawing on it to!! how 'bout that??? ???

ladyyoshiaru

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: Help!!! Layer problem!!
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2012, 04:26:51 AM »
It seems to me that the error is between keyboard and chair..

Kirstin64Topic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: Help!!! Layer problem!!
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2012, 07:20:10 PM »
shuddup idiot, did i asked you something??!!! if you know it sooooo good, then why dont you tell me how i fix it?!

Robellyn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Help!!! Layer problem!!
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2012, 09:43:23 PM »
Ah,  Kirstin64 ... don't rise to the bait of trolling!

Anyways, new layers are ALWAYS blank. They are like an empty sheet of plastic.

You can 'pull' a layer from your layer palette onto the NEW layer icon and thereby COPY that layer to a new layer.  
You can 'paste' an image from somewhere else into a new layer.

If you could point me to one of these YouTube videos you are using to guide you (and at what time mark the thing you want us to see is at) I might be able to shed some light on things.

Also, if you do a search for how layers work for other programs too (like Photoshop, Painter, the Gimp, Artrage, Sketchbook pro, etc...   layers work very similarly to SAI's), you might get a much broader view of exactly what is happening in SAI.
Fear not, for Fear shall not save thee

Kirstin64Topic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: Help!!! Layer problem!!
« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2012, 08:50:32 PM »
yeah, im a easy one to troll....sadly enough...

alright, thnx!!! that really helped me out with the first deal xD
well, another problem i have is that the youtube films are like: lets make a new layer :D now draw on it and look!! it wont go over the lines and it appears on the original!! :D by me its like: yes, i know how to make a layer >D ....alright, just like the movies... draaaaaaaaww.... *nothing appears* ...hmm.... *and the color goes over the line on the other layer were the color can be seen* ...... ow crack......

help?


Coda

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: Help!!! Layer problem!!
« Reply #7 on: June 20, 2012, 10:41:12 PM »
Just link that YouTube vid you'r talking about.

digitoonie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • deviantart
    • Email
Re: Help!!! Layer problem!!
« Reply #8 on: June 21, 2012, 01:05:05 AM »
Ummm... really confused with what you're saying, but it sounds like whenever you color, the color goes over your lines. Is that right? If that's the case you have to make sure your lineart layer is above your coloring layer. Click the layer your lineart is on and drag it to the top of the layer.

If your lineart is scanned or isn't on a transparency, set it to multiply but keep it on top.

Kirstin64Topic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: Help!!! Layer problem!!
« Reply #9 on: June 25, 2012, 10:36:03 PM »
alright then!!! i'll try ;D thnx bro!! and the yt, yeah, its just all of them Dx