Author Topic: CLIP [Paint Lab]  (Read 97471 times)

raffloneTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
  • YearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • Email
CLIP [Paint Lab]
« on: May 19, 2011, 07:20:02 PM »
Paint Lab seems to be one of those "SAI" programs, but integrated with illistudio and manga studio features, however, I'm not sure if it's a beta program, or a free trail. Because knowing CLIP, it won't be free.



http://www.clip-studio.com/clip_site/cliplab/paintlab to download [note, you must have a clippy account.]
« Last Edit: May 19, 2011, 07:31:27 PM by rafflone »

Coda

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: CLIP [Paint Lab]
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2011, 10:55:22 PM »
Arch... if only I could translate this one with Magikkuwando... but i can't.. 
Am kinda curious

5starheat

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • YearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: CLIP [Paint Lab]
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2011, 12:02:07 PM »
It's a beta through october. Its good/great. not all hotkeys seem to be working, otherwise very nice experience for 20min of using it.

I found this forum while searching for translations for it.

zippier than illuststudio, played around with a canvas size of 5150x3550 and much less lag compared to illuststudio 1.2.1 water color brush size of 350 is still responsive/useful, pen tool has no lag at size of 600, compared to illuststudio at this res the pen tool is not useful. tested on win7 64bit core2 3ghz 2gig ram.

asmIllustrations

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • YearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • Tainted.Sweet.Meats
    • Email
Re: CLIP [Paint Lab]
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2011, 03:46:40 PM »
I just tried the program out after signing up for a clip account. It doesn't seem to be trial at all. I haven't gotten a message pop up or anything and it installed nicely on my OS. ;D for some reason I tried using  Majikkuwando but it wont start up on my comp. I'll just leave this here then for people who cant make a clip account.

clip paint lab download- http://www.mediafire.com/?x0ubj81yv0orvmf

and here is a screenshot for the curious n.n


anyone think they can translate this bad boy?




figue

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 291
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: CLIP [Paint Lab]
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2011, 10:04:37 PM »
Seems to be targeting towards SAI but without an English version I found it really hard to use. I use NekoPaint in Japanese and even that one is much smoother and easier to use.

NanoZero

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • YearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: CLIP [Paint Lab]
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2011, 10:50:22 PM »
I actually use CLIP Paint Lab for my arts regularly. (Since my OS is Mac OSX, it's the closest thing I can get to Paint Tool SAI without using a Virtual Machine or Bootcamp.)
Currently, Version 0.7 is out and available to download. For those who had the previous version, they added a vector line tool, fixed the water tool up to look less underdeveloped, added some brushes from Illuststudio and a few minor changes. I'd imagine in the future that CLIP Paint Labs 0.8 and 0.9 will be having big changes until the release version comes out. (It probably won't be free, but I can't imagine it being very expensive.)
CPL is like SAI in so many ways. For one, it starts up really quick, which I think anyone would like. It does start off with a default canvas, but you can either close it and make a new one, or change the size of the canvas. It has the very similar brush tools, water tool, pen tools, rotate, zoom and undo/redo buttons, so the transition from SAI to CPL was an easy one for me. I even found that you could change the smoothing with the tool options, which was very much like SAI as well.
I do agree that CPL is harder to use since it is in a language that I don't fully understand, but I have found that it does have menus very similar to Photoshop, which helped me a lot. Because of that, I've been able to figure out how to do many things. If we could get this program translated, there'd be so many more things we'd be able to do, since this can be an advanced program. I do hope to make a tutorial just for CPL, but there is still more to learn about it.
But yes, CLIP Paint Lab is a very good program so far in it's development. I can only imagine how much better 1.0 will be when it comes out. It makes a very good rival to SAI, considering that it supports both Windows and Mac and CLIP is offering updates, similar to Illuststudio.
If anyone has any questions about the program, I can help!

asmIllustrations

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • YearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • Tainted.Sweet.Meats
    • Email
Re: CLIP [Paint Lab]
« Reply #6 on: July 06, 2011, 02:55:45 AM »
do you know if there will be and English translation coming out or will it stay in Japanese?

other than that I can fully agree that this program is in fact fun to use.

noodlepoo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • YearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: CLIP [Paint Lab]
« Reply #7 on: July 10, 2011, 10:24:14 PM »
Hi!  Since you have been using Clip Paint Lab, I was wondering if you might know how to make a new layer.  I can understand most of the rest of the program since it is quite similar to other programs that I've used, but this is just confusing.  I can't figure out for the life of me how to make a new layer.  It's probably very simple and I just can't figure it out.  Just wondering if you might know how  :)

NanoZero

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • YearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: CLIP [Paint Lab]
« Reply #8 on: July 12, 2011, 08:52:38 PM »
do you know if there will be and English translation coming out or will it stay in Japanese?

other than that I can fully agree that this program is in fact fun to use.
As far as an official English version goes, that's up to the company, really. I don't expect one for a long time, though. A fanmade version could happen, but who knows? It won't be until after the finished program gets released that someone might take on the project.

Hi!  Since you have been using Clip Paint Lab, I was wondering if you might know how to make a new layer.  I can understand most of the rest of the program since it is quite similar to other programs that I've used, but this is just confusing.  I can't figure out for the life of me how to make a new layer.  It's probably very simple and I just can't figure it out.  Just wondering if you might know how  :)
Ah yes! To make a new layer, there is this icon at the bottom of the layers window that looks like a page with a fold on the lower righthand corner. Click it to make a new layer.
I have a picture of the program window here:
http://nanozero07.deviantart.com/gallery/?catpath=scraps#/d3neuy3
More will be explained later. I hope this helps!

trev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: CLIP [Paint Lab]
« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2011, 11:15:33 AM »
Wow, just been having a play with this application. Gotta say, I'm very impressed

The canvas is VERY fast (rotation/zooming/screen redraws). Much faster than IllustStudio (in openGL) however still not quite as fast as SAI.
It has a nicer/cleaner UI than IllustStudio, however all the palettes seem forced into docking mode.
I've noticed that most of the operations are muti-threaded, which my quadcore CPU loves!
Also since it's 64-bit it allows access to my 8GB ram which is a massive bonus.
The max canvas goes upto 50000px which beats SAI's 10000px.
Oh and you can have a 2000px brush size, which is nice!

Sure, most of the advanced features of IllustStudio are missing.. but if they added them into Paint Lab it would be an absolutely awesome application. Keeping my eye on this one.. hopefully it'll come in an English version too.

I was wondering if you might know how to make a new layer.

You can click the new layer icon as NanoZero mentioned, or use the shortcut CTRL+SHIFT N

« Last Edit: July 19, 2011, 11:18:07 AM by trev »

Monstrue

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • YearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: CLIP [Paint Lab]
« Reply #10 on: July 27, 2011, 01:01:27 AM »
Wow, It look very nice and is a little similar to SAI...
I think I can translate it  8)
that is the last version?

asmIllustrations

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • YearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • Tainted.Sweet.Meats
    • Email
Re: CLIP [Paint Lab]
« Reply #11 on: July 27, 2011, 10:28:13 AM »
its a beta but cant wait for the translation

Monstrue

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • YearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: CLIP [Paint Lab]
« Reply #12 on: July 29, 2011, 07:07:34 AM »
First rough English translation, 70% is done    ;D



I have a couple of troubles with the tools and Subtools but it's going very fast... wait just a little more

trev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: CLIP [Paint Lab]
« Reply #13 on: July 29, 2011, 08:53:43 AM »
haha! awesome man!
and cute pic!

asmIllustrations

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
  • YearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • Tainted.Sweet.Meats
    • Email
Re: CLIP [Paint Lab]
« Reply #14 on: July 30, 2011, 06:29:11 AM »
dude friggen amazing I'm very happy some one is finally translating this thing :3