Author Topic: Open a file past maximum canvas size.  (Read 23635 times)

atakino-zaneTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • Email
Open a file past maximum canvas size.
« on: March 09, 2009, 02:01:20 PM »
Hey there! Just joined because I had a serious problem.

I was working on a picture in sai, and it didn't let me know that I had reached the maximum canvas size (over the 10 000) pixels until after I tried to open what I saved.

There's 5+ hours of work on this file so far, and I REALLY need to get it open.
Is there either
a) a way to force sai to open it so I can export it as a PSD and finish, or even possibly finish it in sai. Opening options/confugirationg and changing it still limits it to the 10k by 10k, which is the program's written in maximum and unchangeable from the regular options panel. What I'm thinking of here is some sort of way to alter the settings by messing with the files that run sai. I've had to do something similar for other programs, but those were with a step by step guide I found, so I'd have no idea what I was doing with sai.
or b) a program that can convert the .SAI file to psd or something else workable (or at the very least, viewable, as in Jpeg, png, bmp, gif, ect.)


Thanks for your help in advance ^^;; it'd really mean a lot to me if someone could help me out.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2009, 09:56:04 AM by atakino-zane »

figue

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 293
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Open a file past maximum canvas size.
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2009, 04:16:55 PM »
Over the 10 000 px? Wow  :o

You can open it in SAI, go to Options then set Width and Height.

atakino-zaneTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Open a file past maximum canvas size.
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2009, 10:58:42 PM »
The maximum sai allows is 10 000 by 10 000, I've tried that already. I even tried raising the height and reducing hte width so the area would stay the same but that doesn't work, either. I kinda need answers I can't find by typing my problem into google.
Thanks anyway though ^_^

Yeah, it was the height that was that tall, I don't even know how tall it was =,=

Akeela

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Open a file past maximum canvas size.
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2009, 02:08:18 AM »
what if you downloaded a trial version of photoshop or something, re-sized it in that and then re-opened it in SAI?

atakino-zaneTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Open a file past maximum canvas size.
« Reply #4 on: March 11, 2009, 04:14:46 AM »
I have photoshop already, Photoshop can't open SAI files.

Also if I resized it it'd be quite illegible |:

trev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: Open a file past maximum canvas size.
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2009, 08:26:55 AM »
Does SAI give you an error message when you try to open the file?
I wonder if it has something to do with the amount of RAM on your system..?

atakino-zaneTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Open a file past maximum canvas size.
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2009, 09:52:20 AM »
Has nothing to do with the system, my computer can more than handle this. When I was working on it I did not encounter a problem, the only problem sai had was with OPENING said file again after it was saved.
It's a limit sai imposes on the maximum file-size, which I believe I've already established. (program maximum is 10k by 10k)
I'm not looking for a fix that's going to lie within sai's usual settings, I know how to run it. What I'm looking for is an unconventional way to FORCE it to open the file. I know it can handle the file due to the amount of time I spent working on it.
Or for a program that will convert the file to a psd, or a jpeg, or pretty much anything else that I can at least open with photoshop.

trev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 327
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: Open a file past maximum canvas size.
« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2009, 08:17:34 AM »
Sorry, I'm just trying to understand HOW you managed to get a 10x10k opened into SAI in the first place.
Using version 1.1.0 I can't get it to open anything above that size. Which version were you using?

It's a limit sai imposes on the maximum file-size, which I believe I've already established.
Erm, if you managed to get 10x10k into SAI before (thus breaking the limit)... why don't you just do the same procedure again..? no?

SAI's only just come out of beta - it's not going to be integrated or supported by any programs/pipelines other than SAI. For the time being at least, it's definitely a closed format.

Other than trying to contact to author, maybe you could download past versions/betas and see if by some weird chance they don't have the 10x10k limit? Or maybe see if you can download some reverse engineering tools and hack apart the .exe?


atakino-zaneTopic starter

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Open a file past maximum canvas size.
« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2009, 08:58:54 AM »
Oh. The origonal file i was drawing into was copypasted. (it was a template sort of thing) The clipboard supports larger than 10kx10k, strangely. I'm wondering if there's a way to send the creator of Sai some feedback about that, since that's where the original problem stemmed from.

Anyway, thanks for those thoughts, I'll look into them. :)

Edit: I'm using sai version 1.0.1, which was the one available on the official website.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2009, 09:00:34 AM by atakino-zane »

parfhelbelia

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
  • LOLICON RULES !
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • My deviantART
Re: Open a file past maximum canvas size.
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2009, 12:05:08 AM »
In the miximum canvas size option panel........ it says

Quote
Set maximum canvas size, upper bound is 10000,
memory for selected size is always reserved for creating/resizing canvas,

but if this exceed recommended size, there is no guarantee for normal functioning.

I guess this means...
- You can work with 10000x10000px file
- You should encounter some problem if you try to open that file. (it says 'CREATING/RESIZING' no 'AND OPEN')

I still wonder how could you create something bigger than 10000x10000 in sai
Quote
I'm just trying to understand HOW you managed to get a 10x10k opened into SAI in the first place.

I think there's nothing to do with clipboard =A=
Only one problem I can think about is....
You've paste something bigger in a 10000x10000 document and save.

I'm not sure. SAI does not allow to create/resize the canvas bigger than 10000 either I use default setting or not, so I can't imagine how can this happen.
My deviantART
My English skill is not very good - Please forgive me when I say something stupid : P

Yuviously

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: Open a file past maximum canvas size.
« Reply #10 on: July 05, 2011, 06:09:29 PM »
Has anyone found a way to open/convert such files by now? D:
My file is 1100x10039 and I hope there's a way too get it back...

Coda

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
Re: Open a file past maximum canvas size.
« Reply #11 on: July 07, 2011, 10:41:40 AM »
As far as I know there is no way to get it back now. lol
I'd  say, know your software limits, for SAI don't go over 8k pixel
...
And after all this time, It  keeps me wonderring... WHY don't you people save your files as PSD from the start?
Seriously...

Robellyn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
  • YearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYearsYears
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Open a file past maximum canvas size.
« Reply #12 on: July 07, 2011, 06:04:22 PM »
And after all this time, It  keeps me wonderring... WHY don't you people save your files as PSD from the start?
Seriously...

I would imagine because PSD doesn't save the vector layers in an editable format (as well as, say, texture settings on a layer and all). 

(That being said, I always save in PSD since I usually end up doing at least a little work in Painter on my pictures!)
Fear not, for Fear shall not save thee

Panda

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Years
    • View Profile
Re: Open a file past maximum canvas size.
« Reply #13 on: January 29, 2020, 02:04:08 PM »
This problem has been semi-resolved in SAI 2.0, where the user can recover the work with an option offered on the Files menu